Tom Jones

Inducted 1998

Stock cars, ice racers, rally cars and production sedans, Tom Jones has driven them all. He was Canada’s first FIA-graded rally driver, competing in a number of Shell 4000s and winning the 1968 Carreras 1000 Rally in Jamaica and the 1969 Press On Regardless Rally in Michigan. Between 1973 and 1979, he dominated the International Ice Racing Circuit, before turning to GT-1 and GT-2 sedan racing. He won a number of Prairie Region championships, several outright Canadian titles and a string of races south of the border. In1982, he won all five races in the Molyslip Challenge series.

Photo courtesy of Jerry Winker

Tom Burgess

Inducted 1998

For more than 35 years, Tom Burgess blazed across the rally trail in Canada and the United States as a competitor. His record speaks for itself: 39 National victories, six National championships and two North American championships. He was National Rally Director from 1984 to1986, President of the B.C. Region of the Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs in1975 and ’76 and B.C. Rally Director in 1973 and ’74, and, as a member of the National Rally Committee, helped to write the Canadian Rally rulebook.

Image by Jerry Winkler

Jim Gunn

Inducted 1997

No one in the history of Canadian motorsport is more deserving of the title Builder than Jim Gunn. In addition to organizing the Trans-Canada Rally (1960-61) and the Shell 4000 rallies (1962 to1968), Jim Gunn was a founder and the first secretary of the Canadian Automobile Sport Committee in 1951. Later renamed the Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs, CASC became the sanctioning body for all motorsport in Canada, and Gunn, now deceased, served as president from 1956 to 1961, when CASC grew from 40 member clubs to 92.