Scott Wilson

Scott Wilson at Keystone Dragway

Inducted 1997

A drag racer from London, Ont., Scott Wilson was the first Canadian to break the 200-mph barrier, driving a slingshot dragster, “The Time Machine”. With car owner Alex Litt, Scott was a strong competitor in NHRA National events and match races in Canada and the U.S., eventually hitting 233 mph in the quarter-mile with an elapsed time of 6.89 seconds in “The Time Machine”.

Image by Dale Olnick

Bernie Fedderly

Inducted 1996

Currently Co-Crew Chief of John Force’s Castrol GTX AA fuel funny car, Bernie Fedderly is one of the most respected crew chiefs in drag racing. Fedderly’s Canadian career culminated in a top fuel victory by driver Terry Capp and the Canadian “wheeler dealer” team at the 1980 U.S. Nationals. From 1982 to 1992, he was crew chief for owner Larry Minor, winning championships with top fuel driver Gary Beck and funny car driver Ed McCulloch.

Frank Hawley

Inducted 1995

Frank Hawley originally from London, Ontario, won back-to-back NHRA Winston World Funny Car Championships in 1982 and 1983 at the wheel of the famed Chi-Town Hustler. He won a total of seven National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Nationals enroute to his two championships. In 1985, Hawley started the first ever drag racing school in Gainesville, Florida. He later replaced the injured Darrell Gwyn in the Coors Light top fuel dragster, adding two top fuel National wins to his record.

Dale Armstrong

Inducted 1995

One of the most innovative drag racers in the sport- and always under financed- Dale Armstrong still won 12 NHRA Nationals and 14 IHRA races. But his true genius came to light as crew of Kenny Bernstein’s Budweiser King Team. He directed his boss to four Winston Funny Car Titles in the 80’s, and, after a move to the top fuelers in 1990, engineered the cars in which Bernstein broke the 300-MPH barrier and set drag racing world records.

Image via Bangshift