2016 Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame Induction a Sellout Success



The five celebrated 2016 inductees into the Canadian Motorsport Hall Fame (CMHF) received their member medallions in front of a sellout crowd at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on Saturday, Oct. 22.

Joining the five new individual members — rallying’s Antoine L’Estage, stock car driver Peter Gibbons, drag racing’s John Edgar Petrie, motorcycle racer Jordan Szoke and CASCAR champion David Whitlock — was 2016 International Inductee Multimatic Motorsports Inc. and inaugural CMHF Rising Star Award winner Lance Stroll, who appeared by video message.

“I want to thank everyone who made the 2016 edition one of the most successful ceremonies since we moved the gala to the Canadian Broadcasting Centre in 2013,” said CMHF chairman, Dr. Hugh Scully.

“Having such a great crowd and enthusiastic response to our gala underlines the huge support motorsport has in Canada and the quality of the talents this country has produced over the decades.”

The packed crowd at the 2016 Induction Ceremony presented by MAV TV and Lucas Oil mingled with the winners at a reception in the theatre lobby following the official presentations and bid on several items in a silent auction to benefit the CMHF.

“This year’s list of inductees underlines the many different forms of motorsport where Canadians have excelled,” said the Hall’s Chairman Dr. Hugh Scully.

“It is an honour for the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame to include these five new members who have not only found great success in their careers, but also thrilled countless fans over the years.”

The master of ceremonies for the induction was celebrated motorsport and automotive journalist Norris McDonald, who was also became the first reporter to be inducted into the hall in 2013.

“It is always an honour to led the induction ceremonies and introduce the accomplished Canadians who enter the hall every years, McDonald said.

“This year was particularly special, with an amazing crop of inductees being joined world-beating Multimatic which was recognized for its global success while flying the Canadian flag and one of Canada’s hottest young prospects, Lance Stroll, taking home Rising Star honours.”

The crowd boasted several hall members, including two time Formula Atlantic champion Bill Brack, 24 . Ralph Luciw , Roger Peart, Ross de St Croix , Paul Cooke Dr. Scully, Hours of Le Mans class winner Scott Maxwell, and accomplished racer and team owner Brian Stewart.

2016 Induction Ceremony Tickets Now Available

2016 tickets on sale



Tickets for the 2015 Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame’s Induction Ceremonies,  are now available. Come and rub shoulders with the stars on October 22nd, 2016 .
Show starts at 7:30 pm at the Glenn Gould Studio Theatre, 250 Front Street West, Toronto.
This year’s Canadian inductees are: Antoine L’Estage (numerous rally awards)) David Whitlock (three- time CASCAR Super Series National Champion) Peter Gibbons (2000 CASCAR National Champion) Jordan Szoke ( Most Superbike Victories in Canadian history), John Edgar Petrie (award winning Drace Racer).


Tickets are $85.00 and can be ordered online by clicking on the button below.

Alternatively, tickets can be ordered by mail by printing & completing the attached form and mailing it and a cheque to 510 – 35 Blake Street Barrie, ON, L4M 1J8 attention CMHF.
Click here to download/print form

For more information, call (705)737-5986.