2017 Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame Inductees

Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame announces its 2017 inductees


TORONTO (May 31, 2017) — A bumper crop of nine accomplished Canadians will be honoured during the 23rd Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame’s Induction Ceremonies at the Canadian Broadcasting Corp.’s Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto on Oct. 14, 2017.

The 2017 Canadian inductees are: Drs. Jacques Bouchard and Ronald Denis, Terry Dale, Peter Lockhart, Dave Mathers, Major-General Lewis Wharton MacKenzie, Chris Pfaff, John Powell, and Sid Priddle

“This year was a difficult one for the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame selection committee with so many strong candidates nominated,” said the Hall’s Chairman Dr. Hugh Scully.

“We have a strong slate of inductees this year who have made huge contributions to Canadian motorsport, on the local, national and international stage. The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame is proud to have them as members.”

Drs. Jacques Bouchard and Ronald Denis, both from Montreal, go into the hall together, just as they worked for decades as builders and contributors in their positions as co-Chief Medical Officer for the Canadian Grand Prix. Dr. Bouchard joined the Canadian Grand Prix in 1979, while Dr. Denis arrived in 1987.

The pair has played a key role in advancing medical care at motor sport events in Canada and around the world through their work with the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) Medical Commission.

Involved as a volunteer in Canadian and international motorsport since 1967, Ottawa’s Terry Dale was a founding member of the Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs (Ontario Region). An official for more than 30 years in several different series including Indy Lights, and the Canadian Grand Prix, Dale was also race director at Ontario’s Calabogie Motorsport Park. Along the way, Dale helped to mentor the next generation of race officials by recognizing and mentoring young talent.

Montreal’s Peter Lockhart raced for 25 years in Canada and the U.S., winning in both open wheel and sports cars. The bulk of Lockhart’s career was spent in sports cars, racing both sprint and endurance events in series such as the World Endurance Championship, the Player’s GM Series, and the Speed World Challenge Touring Car Series. He also owned and managed his own racing team as well as helped up-and-coming drivers such as Mark Wilkins and Kuno Wittmer develop their talents.

You name it and David Mathers, of St. Thomas, Ont., has done it at a racetrack. He won races from behind the wheel and as a team owner, directed technical inspection, acted as an official starter and race director, owned racing facilities, sponsored drivers, including Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame members Herbie Rogers, Gary Vessair, and David Whitlock, called the action as race announcer, and written about events as a reporter. In addition, he’s been involved in several different types of racing in Canada, from dragsters and CASCAR to snowmobiles and even tractors.

He may be well-known for his career in the Canadian Armed Forces, but retired Major-General Lewis Wharton MacKenzie, of Truro, NS, has also been an active driver and advocate in Canadian motorsport for more than four decades. Mackenzie has won several championships in his racing career, including several Formula Ford titles, and a class win in the Targa Newfoundland. He also took home the Ted Powell Award in 2015. Off the track, Mackenzie helps other competitors raise funds for their careers, including helping train two amputee Afghan veteran soldiers to compete in the 2010 Targa Newfoundland road race.

Saying that the list of Canadian drivers whose careers were helped by Toronto’s Chris Pfaff is impressive would be an understatement. It includes the who’s who of Canadian racing, such as Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductees Ron Fellows, Scott Goodyear, and Richard Spenard, along with potential future inductees such as Scott Hargrove, Kyle Marcelli, Daniel Morad, and Robert Wickens. Pfaff’s racing teams began with a championship in the Rothmans Porsche 944 Turbo Cup Series in 1988 with Scott Goodyear and continue to this day with the Ultra 94 Porsche GT3 Cup Canada Series. In between, there were Pfaff teams in the Firestone Firehawk Series, American Le Mans, and Palmer Audi, and the Pirelli World Challenge among others. He also supported several karting series to help develop young talent, including the recently announced Champion Ron Fellows Karting Challenge.

Born in England, John Powell began his racing career on ice, winning several prestigious races before turning his attention to asphalt. After finishing second to Canadian Motorsport Hall Of Fame inductee Bill Brack in the 1973 Player’s Canadian Formula B Championship, Powell joined the Mosport Racing School. A condition of employment was quitting racing, which saw Powell turn to driver development, training Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductees Scott Goodyear and Paul Tracy. The Blackstock, Ont., resident also helped to create and nurture some of this country’s most recognizable racing series, such as the Player’s GM Series. As a team owner, the impressive list of drivers who raced for Powell includes Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductees Peter Lockhart, Scott Goodyear, and Paul Tracy.

Sid Priddle never won a race but fans across this country are winners because of his dedication to motorsport in Canada. The Saint John, NB, native has been a major force behind the scenes at just about every major racing event in Canada, directing public relations and communications at the Canadian Grands Prix, including the first at Mosport in 1967, the Molson Indy Toronto, the Molson Indy Vancouver, and the Edmonton Indy. He is also the only Canadian to run communications for the U.S. Grand Prix, when it was held in Phoenix in 1988 and 1989. Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductees Mario Andretti, Michael Andretti, Bill Brack, Greg Moore, Paul Tracy, and Gilles Villeneuve also benefited from Priddle’s public relations wizardry. His ability to develop and nurture long-lasting relationships with the media helped take motorsport from a second tier sport in Canada to front-page news.

The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame’s induction ceremony will take place in Toronto on October 14 along with its annual silent auction will also take place in the lobby of the theatre.

A limited number of tickets for the induction ceremony will go on sale in late June.  Please visit the newly redesigned cmhf.ca for more information.